Testing Schedule

Math Placement

  • Spring 2020 8th Grade Math Placement Test Information

    Each year Fullerton Joint Union High School (District) tests all incoming 8th-grade students who are currently in Math 8 and Algebra 1 to determine what math course will be appropriate for their 9th-grade year. Students who are taking Geometry in 8th grade will be placed into Algebra 2 in the fall contingent upon passing Geometry as reported by their junior high/middle school.

    Preparation materials have been given to the junior high/middle schools listed below. To access these materials at home, click on the links below.

    Math 8 Pep for FJUHSD Math Placement Test

    S2020 FJUHSD Alg 1 Prep Materials for math placement test

    It is suggested that students currently in Algebra 1 also review and study some of the practice materials in the Math 8 folder.

    The testing window for Spring 2020 is March 2nd through March 20th. The schedule below shows the testing schedule for each junior high/middle school.

    Feeder Schools

    Math 8 Testing Date(s)

    Algebra Test Date

    High School Testing

    HS Chair Email

    Ladera Vista

    3/16 & 3/17

    3/16 & 3/17

    TRHS

    Paul Rodriguez: prodriguez@fjuhsd.org

    Beechwood

    3/18 & 3/19

    3/18 & 3/19

    FUHS

    Blanca Villalobos: bvillalobos@fjusd.org

    Nicolas

    3/13 & 3/16

    3/13 & 3/16

    Fisler

    3/17

    3/17

    SHHS

    Mariam Tan: mtan@fjuhsd.org

    Parks

    3/16

    3/16

    Buena Park JH

    3/13

    3/13

    BPHS

    Greg Love: glove@fjuhsd.org

    Washington

    Week of 3/16

    Week of 3/16

    SOHS

    Susan Higgins: shiggins@fjuhsd.org

    Heights Christian

    3/3 1:15pm to 3:00pm

    3/3 1:15pm to 3:00pm

    Rancho Starbuck

    3/17 & 3/18

    3/17 & 3/18

    LHHS

    Keith Gallagher: kgallagher@fjuhsd.org

    Imperial

    3/16 - 3/19

    3/16 - 3/19


    Following testing, the high school math department chairs meet with the junior high/middle school teachers to review the scores and get their input on student placement.

    Placement letters will be mailed home sometime in mid-April.

    If your child is absent on the day of testing, wants to challenge their placement by taking the test over again, or your child does not attend one of the schools in the chart above, you need to sign up for a test date at the school your child will be attending in the fall. 

    Click on the school name to sign up for a challenge/make-up test.

    Buena Park High School

    Fullerton High School

    La Habra High School

    Sonora High School

    Sunny Hills High School

    Troy High School

     

    If you have any questions about math placement testing, please contact the math department chair at the school your child will be attending. 

    If you have questions about enrollment, please contact the counselor at the school your child will be attending.

    High School

    Lead Guidance Counselor

    Math Department Chair

    Buena Park

    Maggie Gallego

    mgallego@fjuhsd.org

    Greg Love

    glove@fjuhsd.org 

    Fullerton

    David McIntosh  

    dmcintosh@fjuhsd.org 

    Blanca Villalobos

    bvillalobos@fjuhsd.org  

    La Habra

    Erin Murphy

    emurphy@fjuhsd.org 

    Diana Flores

    dqflores@fjuhsd.org 

    Keith Gallagher

    kgallagher@fjuhsd.org 

    Sonora

    Julie Shin

    jshin@fjuhsd.org     

    Susan Higgins

    shiggins@fjuhsd.org 

    Sunny Hills

    Beth Thomson

    bthomson@fjuhsd.org    

    Mariam Tan

    mtan@fjuhsd.org 

    Troy

    Sarah Saleen

    ssaleen@fjuhsd.org 

    Paul Rodriguez

    prodriguez@fjuhsd.org


    FJUHSD Math Course Sequence Charts

    2020 FJUHSD Math Course Sequence

    2020 FJUHSD Course Sequence for students starting in Math Essentials or Foundations 1