Math Placement

  •  
    Math Placement Test Dates: 
    If your child attends a school that feeds into the Fullerton Joint Union High School District, math placement is as follows:
    Math 8 Placement Testing: April 1-5
    Algebra & Geometry testing: April 8-16
     
    Absent students for testing/outside of district testing:
    Students not enrolled in a feeder school, students attending private schools, and students absent on the day of the placement exam will need to register for the challenge/make up test.  Parents can sign up for their high school of attendance by clicking on the google form link below. 

    *Students outside of a feeder school or attending a private school and have been accepted into the Troy Tech IB program do not need to take the math placement exam. Contact the Troy Tech Director, Laurie Downum at troytech@fjuhsd.org if you have any questions.

    Placement Letter:

    Parents will receive a letter in the mail by the beginning of May from the Fullerton Joint Union High School District with your child's math placement results for Fall 2019. If you would like your child to retest (Challenge their score), please sign up for the high school of attendance by clicking on the google form link below. Math 8 students cannot take the Challenge Test to skip Algebra 1.

    Challenge Dates:

    High School

    Lead Guidance Counselor

    Math Department Chair

    Challenge/Make Up Test Dates:

    Challenge/Make Up Test Registration Link

    You must register in order to test

    Buena Park

    Maggie Gallego

    mgallego@fjuhsd.org

    Greg Love                

    glove@fjuhsd.org

    May 16th at 3:00 in room 72 at BPHS

    goo.gl/forms/opFYT8Ugw2CHDJlz2

    Fullerton

    David McIntosh

    dmcintosh@fjuhsd.org

    Jina Jackson

    jjackson@fjuhsd.org

    May 13th or May 17th arrive between 3:00 & 5:00 pm in room 56/57 at FUHS

    goo.gl/forms/7xYxqQdGB3g2FeY92

    La Habra

     

    Erin Murphy

    emurphy@fjuhsd.org

    Diana Flores

    dqflores@fjuhsd.org

    Keith Gallagher        

    kgallagher@fjuhsd.org


    May 15th or May 22nd, arrive between 3:00 & 5:00 pm in room 50 at LHHS

    goo.gl/forms/dqwp6HKpZ3RwTCut1

    Sonora

    Janet Schaad

    jschaad@fjuhsd.org

    Susan Higgins

    shiggins@fjuhsd.org


    May 21 or May 22, arrive between 3:30 and 4:30 in room 401 at SOHS

    goo.gl/forms/iMpIxYAVSU0S9P3v2

    Sunny Hills

    Beth Thomson

    bthomson@fjuhsd.org

    Nicole Knutson

    nknutson@fjuhsd.org

     

    Mariam Tan

    mtan@fjuhsd.org

    May 14th or May 15th at 3:30  or 4:30 in room 409 at SHHS

    goo.gl/forms/ubsfu1l6O6nNWtcj2

    Troy

    Sarah Saleen

    ssaleen@fjuhsd.org

    Paul Rodriguez

    prodriguez@fjuhsd.org

    May 16th at 4:00 pm in room 333 at TRHS

    goo.gl/forms/JXbY0Gp3axTecDUW2

     
    Summer School math classes for incoming freshmen
    If your child is eligible for a summer school math class, it will be indicated in the Placement Letter you receive by FJUHSD in the beginning of May or by the high school of attendance. The summer school class will be for remediation, not for advancement. Math 8 students cannot take Algebra 1 during the summer to advance.
     
    Math Placement for Fall 2019 for Math 8 students
    Math 8 students will be placed into either Algebra 1, Foundations (2-year Algebra) or Math Essentials (Pre-Algebra).
    Algebra 1 students will be placed into Honors Geometry, Geometry, or Algebra 1.
    Geometry students will be placed into Honors Algebra 2, Algebra 2, Geometry or Algebra 1.
     
    FJUHSD Math Sequence for students starting in Math Essentials or Foundations: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1LDlVVIbfuB79Gn2g7AJe88W_leDnFGYz/view?usp=sharing
     
    If you have any further questions, please contact Jina Jackson, FJUHSD Math Curriculum Specialist, at jjackson@fjuhsd.org